You can customize your profile picture and set your online presence with StarLeaf app. Select a topic below to learn more:

About default profile pictures

When you first sign into StarLeaf app, create a group chat, or make a call, StarLeaf assigns a default profile picture:
Another StarLeaf app user whom you can message. Signified by the first initials of the user’s first and last name
A group (public or private)
A voice call to, or from, an unknown number. This can be an incoming, missed, or outgoing call
A call to, or from, a StarLeaf-registered room system in your organization
A call to, or from, an external contact that is in your company directory or in your personal contacts. This can be a video or voice call, but you cannot message these contacts
A call to, or from, a unknown H.323/SIP/StarLeaf/Skype for Business URI (one that is not in the company directory or in personal contacts). For example, a StarLeaf app user in a different organization, or an H.323 URI
A permanent meeting (a virtual meeting room that anyone can dial into at any time)

How to customize your profile picture (desktop)

To upload, change, or remove your profile picture:
  1. Go to the Account tab.
  2. Click the camera icon at the top of the window.
  3. Choose to:
    • Select file from your file explorer and click Open
    • Remove your current profile picture. A default profile picture replaces it.

How to customize your profile picture (mobile)

To upload, change, or remove your profile picture:
  1. Go to the Account tab.
  2. Touch the camera icon at the top of the screen.
  3. Choose to:
    • Take photo using your in-built camera
    • Choose from files and upload a photo from your libraries
    • Remove your current profile picture. A default profile picture replaces it.

About online presence

Presence information allows other app users to know whether you are currently online, in a call, offline, or have Do not disturb set. When a user is active in the app, a presence icon appears over their profile picture. If there is no presence icon on their profile picture, then the user is offline. A user can appear offline when they have not interacted with the keyboard or mouse for 120 seconds or they have locked their PC/Mac.

Active now

A green circle over a profile picture indicates that a user is currently active in the app and available to call or chat. On mobile devices, a user is active now while the app is open in the foreground of their mobile device. In the desktop app, a user appears active now when they are active on their desktop while the app is running.

In a call or meeting

An orange circle with a handset over a profile picture indicates that the user is currently in a call or meeting. This can be:
  • A one-to-one voice or video call that the user has made or answered from the app
  • An ad-hoc or scheduled meeting that the user has joined from the app

Do not disturb

A red circle over a profile picture indicates that the user has set Do not disturb on their app. As long as Do not disturb is set, the user does not receive notifications for calls, messages, or meetings. For more information, see How to set Do not disturb.

Offline presence

When a user is offline, there is no presence icon over their profile picture. On mobile devices, a user appears offline when the app is closed or has been pushed to the background of their mobile device. On a desktop, a user appears offline when the app is closed or the user is inactive on their desktop even though the app is still running.

Last seen

When a user is offline, a Last seen message appears under their name in the chat. This shows the date or time the user was last online.

Do not disturb

You can set your online presence to Do not disturb from any device. When Do not disturb is set, all notifications for messages, calls, and meetings are disabled. Do not disturb can be set for 30 minutes, 1 hour, 2 hours, 8 hours, or Until… (a specific date and time chosen by the user).

How to set Do not disturb

To set Do not disturb from the app:
  1. Select the bell icon from any screen.
  2. Choose a duration or Until…
  3. If you select Until… , choose a specific date and time and select Set . When Do not disturb is active, a red presence icon appears on your profile picture.

How to end Do not disturb early

To end Do not disturb early, select the bell icon and choose End now.