With StarLeaf for desktop, the following meeting controls are available:

Meeting controls glossary

To access meeting controls, hover your mouse anywhere on the call window.

Select Participants to access participant management controls. Permission to manage the Participants panel differs depending on the type of meeting you are in. See Who is the meeting organizer? below for further detail.

See Share my screen for more information on how to share your screen.

This is only enabled when the meeting has started or more than one participant has joined.

Select Layout to change how the video windows appear in the call. For more information on the types of layout, and how to change your layout on any device, go to Meeting layouts.

In More you can switch between computer and phone audio, and also access Audio & video settings (where you can configure the camera, microphone, and speakers).

Enter and exit full-screen mode from here. This control is only available on Windows devices. To switch between full screen mode on other devices, double click on the video.

When the meeting ends or drops down to one participant, the chat and chat history disappear.

Meeting rooms and external StarLeaf users from other organizations cannot view or participate in the chat.

How to share your screen

You can share content to a call or meeting from any device. For more information, see Share my screen.

Participant management controls

From the Participants panel, you can access controls relating to other participants:

Mute participants

You can individually mute or unmute participants by selecting the microphone icons beside their name in the Participants panel:

You can also choose to Mute all participants, or Unmute all participants from Options:

In a scheduled meeting, all participants have access to these mute controls (if they are within the organization) and in an ad hoc meeting, only the person who initiated the meeting has these controls.

Locking the meeting

Locking a meeting prevents any more participants from joining the meeting. Those that attempt to join after a meeting has been locked see a screen telling them that the meeting is locked.

To lock a meeting:

  1. Select Participants from the meeting controls panel.
  2. Select Options.
  3. Select Lock meeting.

To unlock a meeting, follow steps 1 to 2 above and select Unlock meeting.

Remove a participant

To remove a participant from the meeting:

  1. Select Participants from the meeting controls panel.
  2. Click the remove icon next to the participant who you want to remove:

  3. Confirm that you want to remove the participant.

When you remove a participant, they are disconnected from the meeting.

Ending the meeting

To end the current meeting for you and all other participants:

  1. Select Participants from the meeting controls panel.
  2. Select Options.
  3. Select End meeting. A confirmation box opens.
  4. Select End now.

Meeting layouts

You can change how you view participants and content in a meeting or call, from any device. For more information, see Meeting layouts.

Spotlight meeting controls

For information on in-call meeting controls for Spotlight meetings, go to Spotlight meetings.

Mini call window

Minimizing your meeting on a Windows or macOS device turns it into a mini call window:

You can click and drag on the video to move the call window around your screen.

Hover your cursor over the mini call window to access call controls such as microphone and video mute. Click the maximize icon in the top-right to return the call window to its normal size.

Keyboard shortcuts

When you are in a call or meeting, the following keyboard shortcuts for your microphone and camera are available:

Turn microphone on / off
Windows Alt+A
macOS Shift+Command+A
Turn camera on / off
Windows Alt+V
macOS Shift+Command+V
Push-to-talk
Press and hold the space bar to temporarily unmute your microphone

Switch between computer and phone audio

When you are in a meeting, you can choose to switch between your computer and phone audio if you are experiencing problems with one of them, for example. Select More to view the audio options available.

If you select Phone audio, you will be provided with a dial-in number that you can call from your mobile or landline while viewing the meeting in your browser.

Who is the meeting organizer?

In a scheduled meeting: the user who originally scheduled the meeting and sent any invites.

When using Meet Now: the user who started the meeting by selecting Group video meeting in a group or Start a meeting from the Today tab and invited others to join.

In an ad hoc meeting: the user who created the meeting by adding another user(s) to an ongoing one-to-one call.

In a Spotlight meeting: the user who originally scheduled the meeting and sent any invites. During the meeting, participants who are placed in spotlight will receive the same controls as the meeting organizer.

Who can use meeting controls?

Depending on the user and type of meeting, participants ‘ permissions and control vary according to scenarios below:

For general information about this feature, go to Guest Join.

*The recording solution is an optional extra. If enabled, only the meeting organizer can download and view the recording. To learn more about recording controls and permissions, go to Recording a meeting.

**This option may be disabled by the admin.