The StarLeaf app has controls that you can use while remaining in a voice or video call.

In-call controls are currently available in the desktop app only. On this page:

Icon Glossary

The controls available in a meeting are shown and described below. For controls in a one-to-one call in the app, go to Using in-call controls.

Select Participants to open the Participants panel. From here, meeting participants can be added or removed. Permission to manage the Participants panel differs depending on the type of meeting you are in. See Who can use meeting controls? below for further detail.

You can send a message to a user or group while you are in a call with them. They must be a StarLeaf user or a StarLeaf group, otherwise the chat option is unavailable and grayed out.

When you are in a call, select the Chat icon from the in-call features at the top of the screen. This opens the chat panel to the left-hand side, allowing you to send messages while remaining in the ongoing call.

See below for more information on how to share your screen to other participants using StarLeaf app for Windows or macOS

This is only enabled when the meeting has started or more than one participant has joined.

Select layout to change how the video windows appear in the call. To view the different video layouts available go to Meeting layouts.

In More you can switch between computer and phone audio, and also access Audio & video settings (where you can configure the camera, microphone, and speakers).

Enter and exit full-screen mode from here.

How to share your screen

You can share a specific screen or application when you are in a meeting or one-to-one call, from the StarLeaf app for Windows or macOS.

  1. Click Share my screen on the top toolbar.

  2. Select a screen or application you want to share. Your content automatically starts sharing.

While you are sharing, the Share my screen control turns green.

Change screen sharing

To change the screen or application that you want to share:

  1. Click Change share in the top toolbar.

  2. Select a different screen or application. Your content automatically starts sharing.

Stop screen sharing

To stop screen sharing:

  1. Click Change share in the top toolbar.

  2. Click Stop sharing.

    Additional Windows features

    When you share content using StarLeaf app for Windows, a mini tool bar appears at the top of the content or screen that you are sharing. You can click on the green box to change your content share, or click Stop to stop sharing:

    If the content you are sharing is windowed, a green border appears around it.

    Sharing on a single screen causes the call window to turn into a mini call window. Hover your cursor over the mini call window to access call controls such as microphone and video mute. Click the maximize icon to return the call window to its normal size:

Switch between computer and phone audio

When you are in a meeting, you can choose to switch between your computer and phone audio if you are experiencing problems with one of them, for example. Select More to view the audio options available.

If you select Phone audio, you will be provided with a dial-in number that you can call from your mobile or landline while viewing the meeting in your browser.

Mute controls

You can individually mute or unmute participants by selecting the mic icons beside their name in the participants panel.

You can also choose to mute all participants or unmute all participants from options.

In a scheduled meeting, all participants have access to these mute controls (if they are within the organization) and in an ad hoc meeting, only the person who initiated the meeting has these controls.

Locking the meeting

Locking a meeting prevents any more participants from joining the meeting. Those that attempt to join after a meeting has been locked see a screen telling them that the meeting is locked.

To lock a meeting:

  1. Select Participants from the meeting controls panel.
  2. Select Options.
  3. Select Lock meeting.

To unlock a meeting, follow steps 1 to 2 above and select Unlock meeting.

Ending the meeting

To end the current meeting for you and all other participants:

  1. Select Participants from the meeting controls panel.
  2. Select Options.
  3. Select End meeting. A confirmation box opens.
  4. Select End now.

Who can use meeting controls?

Depending on the type of meeting, participants can be managed by either:

  • All meeting participants if they are in the same organization as the meeting organizer (“All”). Participants from an external organization cannot use meeting controls
  • The meeting organizer only
Permissions Scheduled meeting Ad hoc meeting Meet now
(calling a group)
See the Participants panel All All All
Add participants All Meeting organizer only All
Remove participants All Meeting organizer only All
Mute individual participants All Meeting organizer only All
Unmute individual participants All Meeting organizer only All
Remove individual participants from the call All Meeting organizer only All
Mute all participants All Meeting organizer only All
Unmute all participants All Meeting organizer only All
Lock the meeting All Meeting organizer only All
Unlock the meeting All Meeting organizer only All
End the meeting for everyone All Meeting organizer only All
Record the meeting* All Meeting organizer only All
Stop recording of the meeting All Meeting organizer only All

*The recording solution is an optional extra. If enabled, only the meeting organizer can download and view the recording. To learn more about recording controls and permissions, go to Recording a meeting.

Who is the meeting organizer?

In a scheduled meeting: the user who originally scheduled the meeting and sent any invites.

In an ad hoc meeting: the user who created the meeting by adding another user(s) to an ongoing one-to-one call.

When using meet now (calling a group): the user who created the meeting by selecting Meet now / Start a meeting in a group.