Using in-call features
Using PT Mini 3020Last updated September 27, 2018
When you are in an audio call, you can see in-call options:
- add participant: you can add other people into your call
- hold call: put the other person on hold
- transfer call: transfer the call to another person
When you are in an audio call, the display looks something like this:
If you are in a video call, you see some or all of the following in-call options on the display, in addition to the options listed above for audio-only calls:
- Share screen:
if you have your computer connected to your monitor,you can share your screen with another person (or people) in your video call.
- Display tab: provides you with options for the screen layout. Note that this tab also provides a button to switch self view on and off
- FECC tab: if you are in a video call and the device at the other end of the call allows it, you can control that device’s camera (for zooming and panning). FECC means Far End Camera Control
When you are in a video call, your in-call options panel looks something like this:
Press the Display tab to change what you can see in a video call. The Display tab looks like this:
The Display tab gives you these options:
- video: select to view the other people in your video call. This is the default setting for a video call until someone shares a PC screen and then you see the shared PC screen, in which case, you may prefer to press this button to return to the video view
- my PC: press to view your own PC’s display (if you have attached your computer to the monitor). For example, in a long video call, you may need to continue working on your PC rather than always looking at the video view. Remember that other people in the video call may still be able to see you
- no shared PC/shared PC: If someone is sharing content from their PC, you can press to view that shared content
- self-view: use the self-view slider to either see yourself or not. Self view allows you to see the view of you that other people see when you are in a video call. Switching it off does not prevent them from seeing you. To prevent people from seeing you in a video call, press the Video mute button on the touchscreen controller
- PiP: The PiP is the Picture-in-Picture view. For example, if you have self-view on, you see yourself in a PiP view. Use the PiP control on the Display tab to move the PiP around the screen. Note that if you are in a call where there is shared content
(or you have pressedthen the PiP control allows you to remove the PiP view; to do so, use the cross in the corner of the PiP control to close the PiP view. If you have closed the PiP view, you can make it reappear by pressing the plus sign on the PiP control
Depending on the other device in the video call, you might be able to remotely operate the pan and zoom on the camera at the other end of the call. When you can remotely control the camera at the other end of the call, this is called FECC (Far End Camera Control). You can only use FECC in a point-to-point call (that is, FECC is not available in a conference call).
If FECC is allowed you can press the FECC tab, which looks like this:
When you are in a video call, you can share your screen so that the other people in the call can see your screen. Ensure you have connected your laptop to the Group Telepresence codec using the supplied cable.
When you are in a video call, choose share screen:
The other people in the call can now see your screen.
For more information about connecting your laptop and sharing your laptop’s display, go to Connecting a laptop.