Rejecting a call

It is possible to reject an incoming call if you cannot answer it when it comes through. To reject the call, either press reject or . The caller can choose to leave a message on your voicemail or hang up.

Holding a call

If you answer a call, you can put the caller on hold. To hold a call, press Hold. The caller is placed on hold and hears a waiting tone until you press resume to take them off hold again. You can do this however many times you need to within the same call.

Transferring a call

If you answer a call, you can also choose to transfer them to another number either blindly or as an attended transfer. A blind transfer sends the caller to a third party number without speaking to the third party first. An attended transfer allows you to first speak to the third party before making the transfer.

To make a blind transfer to a third party:

  1. Answer the call and press Xfer. The caller is placed on hold while you make the transfer.
  2. Press or and choose a contact to whom you want to transfer the call by navigating to their name and pressing .
    The name of the contact then appears on the display and a call is placed to the third party. The display reads “transfer call?” with the options Yes and No.
  3. Press Yes immediately to transfer the call without speaking to the third party.
    The original caller is taken off hold and put in direct contact with the third party. Your phone call ends, returning you to the main display screen.

To make an attended transfer to a third party:

  1. Answer the call and press Xfer. The caller is placed on hold while you make the transfer.
  2. Press or and choose a contact to whom you want to transfer the call by navigating to their name and pressing .
    The name of the contact then appears on the display and a call is placed to the third party. The display reads “transfer call?” with the options Yes and No.
  3. Wait for the third party to pick up the phone to speak with them. If they want to take the call, press Yes. If they are unavailable or do not want to take the call, press No.
    If you transfer the call, the original caller is taken off hold and put in direct contact with the third party. Your phone call ends, returning you to the main display screen. If you did not transfer the call, you are returned to the original call.

In addition to transferring calls to contacts in the directory or recent call list, you can also transfer calls to favorites. To do this, press the speed dial for that contact while on the transfer screen. For this reason, if you routinely transfer calls to a particular contact, you might find it worthwhile to set them as a favorite, even if you do not make many direct calls to them otherwise.

Muting your audio

You can mute your outgoing audio so that no one else on the call can hear you. This can be useful if you don’t want distracting ambient noise around you to be heard on the call. To do this, press . If you are in a conference, you can also be remotely muted. In this case, you cannot unmute yourself; you must be unmuted by the person who placed you on mute.