With StarLeaf for mobile and tablet, the following meeting controls are available:

Basic controls

Touch anywhere on your screen to access the following controls:

Mute and unmute your microphone
Hang up
Turn your camera on/off
Access More controls

More controls

Access more meeting controls by touching anywhere on the screen, and then selecting the More icon.

Access participant management controls, such as locking the meeting and removing participants. Permission to manage the Participants panel differs depending on the type of meeting you are in. See Who can use meeting controls? below for further detail
Invite additional participants to the meeting. You can share the meeting ID, share the meeting link, or send an email with instructions on how to join, to anyone

During a meeting, you can now access a meeting group chat and send instant messages to other participants, including Guest Join users. You can share and view files like any normal one-to-one chat.

When the meeting ends or drops down to one participant, the chat and chat history disappear. Meeting rooms cannot view or participate in the chat

Share your screen. For more information, see Share my screen
Start or stop recording the meeting. Recording is an optional extra that must be enabled for your organization by an Admin. For more information, see Recording
Turn your device’s loudspeaker on/off
Switch between your front and back camera
Open a keypad

How to share your screen

You can share content to a call or meeting from any device. For more information, see Share my screen.

How to record a meeting

You can start or stop recording a meeting from any device. Recording is an optional extra that must be enabled for your organization by an Admin. For more information, see Recording.

Participant management controls

You can manage the participants in a meeting from the Participants panel. The Participants panel can be found under More controls.

Mute participants

In a scheduled meeting, all participants have access to the following mute controls (if they are within the organization). In an ad hoc meeting, only the person who initiated the meeting has access to these controls.

Mute all

You can mute and unmute all the participants in a meeting by touching the microphone icons at the bottom of the Participants panel:

Mute individual

You can individually mute and unmute participants by touching their name in the Participants panel, then selecting Mute/Unmute:

Lock the meeting

Locking a meeting prevents any more participants from joining the meeting. Those that attempt to join after a meeting has been locked see a screen telling them that the meeting is locked.

To lock the meeting, touch the lock icon at the bottom of the Participants panel:

You can unlock the meeting by touching the same icon again.

Remove participants

To remove an individual participant from the meeting:

  1. Touch the name of the participant who you want to remove from the Participants panel:

  2. Select Remove:

  3. Confirm that you want to remove the participant.

When you remove a participant, they are disconnected from the meeting.

End the meeting

To end the current meeting for you and all other participants, touch the hang up icon at the bottom of the Participants panel:

Meeting layouts

You can change how you view participants and content in a meeting or call, from any device. For more information, see Meeting layouts.

Spotlight meeting controls

If you are an audience member in a Spotlight meeting, you can Raise and Lower your hand from the Participants panel. The Participants panel can be found under More controls.

Raise hand when you want to say something in the meeting. The meeting organizer receives a notification and can choose to add you to spotlight so that everyone can see and hear you.
Lower hand when you no longer want the meeting organizer to add you to spotlight.

For more information on Spotlight meetings, see Spotlight meetings.

Spotlight controls for meeting organizers on mobile are coming soon.

Who is the meeting host?

In a scheduled meeting: the person who originally scheduled the meeting and sent any invites.

When using Meet Now: the person who started the meeting by selecting Group video meeting in a group or Start a meeting from the Today tab and invited others to join.

In an ad hoc meeting: the person who created the meeting by adding another user(s) to an ongoing one-to-one call.

In a Spotlight meeting: the person who originally scheduled the meeting and sent any invites. During the meeting, only the host has access to participant management controls.

Who can use meeting controls?

Depending on the user and type of meeting, participants’ permissions and controls vary according to scenarios below:

  Spotlight meeting Start new meeting, Scheduled meeting, or Group video meeting Ad hoc meeting
Permissions Users inside or outside of the host’s organization Users inside host’s organization Users outside of host’s organization All
In-meeting chat All Yes Yes Yes
View Participants panel All Yes Yes Yes
Add participants Host only Yes No No
Remove participants Host only Yes No No
Mute individual participants Host only Yes No No
Unmute individual participants Host only Yes No No
Remove individual participants from the call Host only Yes No No
Mute all participants Host only Yes No No
Unmute all participants Host only Yes No No
Lock the meeting Host only Yes No No
Unlock the meeting Host only Yes No No
End the meeting for everyone Host only Yes No No
Record the meeting* Host only Yes** No No
Stop recording of the meeting Host only Yes** No No
Spotlight meetings only:
Move a participant into spotlight Host only
Remove a participant from spotlight Host only
In-meeting chat Yes      
Raise hand Yes
Lower hand Yes

*The recording solution is an optional extra. If enabled, only the meeting organizer can download and view the recording. To learn more about recording controls and permissions, go to Recording a meeting.

**This option may be disabled by the admin.