If you are in a video call, you see a panel similar to the one shown below:

  • add new participant: escalates the call to an ad hoc conference by adding another participant to the call
  • share my PC screen: if there is a laptop or other digital source connected to the GTm, you can share that to the other person (or people) in your video call
  • Display tab: provides you with options for the screen layout. Note that this tab also provides a button to switch self view on and off

Adding more people to your video call

When you are in a call, add additional participants to the call, escalating it to an ad hoc conference. Adding another participant dials them in the same way as with direct calls and they can choose whether or not to accept the call. If they accept, they are added directly to the conference. A list of conference participants are shown in the in-call panel.

You can individually remove participants in a conference by clicking the x on their profile picture. Confirmation options appear to ensure that you want to remove them before doing so.

When you want to leave the conference, push the slide to leave button to the right. This does not terminate the conference, and if other participants choose to remain on the call, they can. Only when everyone has left the call is the conference terminated.

Changing what you see in a video call

Press the Display tab to change what you can see in a video call. The Display tab looks like this:

The Display tab gives you these options:

  • video: select to view the other people in your video call. This is the default setting for a video call until someone shares a PC screen and then you see the shared PC screen, in which case, you may prefer to press this button to return to the video view
  • my PC: press to view a connected PC or other connected digital source. Remember that other people in the video call may still be able to see you
  • shared PC: press to view a PC screen that someone else in the video call is sharing with you. If there is no shared PC, the button reads no shared PC. If the shared PC goes to sleep while connected, the button reads attached PC is asleep
  • self-view: use the self-view slider to either see yourself or not. Self view allows you to see the view of you that other people see when you are in a video call. Switching it off does not prevent them from seeing you. To prevent people from seeing you in a video call, press the Video mute button on the touchscreen controller
  • PiP: The PiP is the Picture-in-Picture view. Use the PiP control on the Display tab to move the PiP around the screen. In one screen systems, if shared PC is present in a call, but the main screen view is video, the PiP is not hideable; when in a call and viewing local or shared content, you can hide the video PiP

Screen layout behavior differs according to whether you have one or two screens attached. For more information, refer to Layouts for dual screen room systems below.

Layouts for dual screen room systems

Room systems with two screens attached (screen 1 and screen 2 connected to HDMI ports 1 and 2 on the rear of the codec), show the full-screen self view under the following circumstances:

  • in a call, with self view enabled, and no computer connected, screen 1 shows self view
  • off hook, but not in a call, and no computer connected, screen 1 shows self view
  • off hook, but not in a call, with a computer connected, screen 2 shows self view

The table below shows what is displayed and when in a dual-screen room system with a PC connected.

Room system state Screen 1 Screen 2
Not in a call Local PC or Leaf icon Leaf icon or if there is a meeting scheduled for today, the meeting room main screen
In a call Local PC or self view or Leaf icon Remote video
Receiving content Shared PC Remote video
Sharing content Local PC Remote video