This article outlines the permission and controls people can have when using StarLeaf recording and live streaming services. You will also find information around recording storage space and retention policies for your organization.

On this page:

About recording and storage

Recording is an optional paid extra in your StarLeaf service. The storage space available for your recordings is determined by the amount agreed upon by your organization and StarLeaf when recording is first purchased.

If your organization goes over its storage space allowance, recordings can still be made but you will be contacted by StarLeaf to purchase additional storage. Alternatively, consider setting up a recording retention policy.

Admins can change recording and streaming permissions and manage storage in their StarLeaf Portal.

Recordings can be downloaded from the StarLeaf Portal and distributed as mp4 files (audio codec: AAC, video codec: H.264). The estimated compression rate is 500 MB per hour or 1-2 Mbps (both after post processing) but bear in mind that this is subject to video motion. Note that the time out for long recordings is 12 hours.

About live streaming

Live streaming is a broadcast of a Spotlight meeting. Anyone can access the live broadcast through a unique link that opens a web page with an embedded video player. This feature is useful if you want allow a wide audience to view a live meeting, discussion, or company update.

For more information, go to Live streaming.

Set how long recordings are stored for

To view your recording storage information and set how long you keep recordings for:

  1. Go to Edit Organization in your Admin Portal.

  2. Open the Storage, recording and live streaming drop down menu.
  3. Select an option in Keep recordings.

  4. Click Apply.

Set default recording and streaming permissions

By default, recording and streaming capabilities are enabled for all users in your organization which means any host can schedule a recording and/or live stream of a meeting.

To change the default recording or streaming permissions for users in your organization:

  1. Go to Edit Organization in your Admin Portal.

  2. Open the Feature availability drop down menu.
  3. Enable or disable the features you want for your organization.
  4. Click Apply.

You can override these controls for a specific user by going to Users > Edit user in your Admin Portal.

How to override default permissions for specific users

Minimum Portal version 6.7 is required.

You can override the organization defaults, and enable or disable recording and/or streaming for specific users in your organization. This is done in a per-user setting.

  1. Go to the Users page.
  2. Click the Edit icon next to the user who you want to give different permissions than the default.

  3. Open the Advanced settings drop down menu.
  4. Go to Recording of meetings override.
  5. Select Enabled or Disabled to enable or disable recording for this user only.
  6. Go to Conference streaming.
  7. Select Enabled or Disabled to enable or disable live streaming for this user only.
  8. Click Apply at the bottom of the page.

Enable or disable permission to stop an ongoing recording

When a meeting and recording have started, you can give participants the control to stop the recording, or prevent participants from stopping it. You can adjust this permission for your entire organization in your Admin Portal.

  1. Go to Edit organization.
  2. Go to Meeting settings.
  3. Select an option in the Recording control permissions drop down menu.
  4. Click Apply.

Permissions are as follows:

  • Enabled for all participants in the organization (default): any participant can start or stop a recording during a meeting
  • Disabled for all participants when recording is selected at schedule time: scheduled recordings cannot be stopped by any participant, including the meeting organizer.

You cannot override this organization setting on a per-user basis.